# bike~pace

Open 50 mile Time Trial: Saturday 13th May 2023, course R50/1b

# **RESULTS SHEET**

<u>Timekeepers</u>

Start: Phyllis Harradine (CC Topp)
Finish: Robin Field (Cardiff Byways CC)

Organizer
Bob Jones
2 Little Orchard
Dinas Powys
Glam CF64 4NH
mob. 07873-353207

Race Support Team officials were as listed overleaf

## **AWARDS**

1st road bike	Robbie Disney	Ludlow CC	1:58:36	£15
1st woman	Emma Bexson	Stratford Cycling Club	2:09:06	£15
1st man 2nd man 3rd man	Anthony Jones Will Bjergfelt Tony Chapman	VMCC powered by Y Beic Saint Piran Frome & District Wheelers	1:43:26 1:45:52 1:46:42	£25 £20 £15
1st team of 2	VMCC powered by Y Beic	(A Jones 1:43:26, B Phillips 1:54:49)	3:38:15	£15 ea.

There are separate PDF files for: Category Results (& Prizes), Lap 1 Split Times, Team competition, VTTA age-adjusted results, and a Scoreboard (results in order of starting). The same files have been uploaded to all relevant Event Details pages.

See:- https://www.cyclingtimetrials.org.uk/race-details/25918

### **THANKS**

To all who entered, especially the 29 who rode.

Half an hour before the start a heavy layer of cloud vanished, and many of those in direct sunlight were complaining about the heat.

Although a light NE breeze can be favourable on this course, the small number of PB's (6) suggest this wasn't a special day even though 2nd and 3rd places in both Women's and Men's events were among them. Many were disappointed the Shubert and McEvoy tandem didn't materialize to set a new course record.

Out of 8 club-teams-of-2 on the start sheet, fastest on aggregate was Velo Myrddyn CC (Anthony Jones 1:43:26 + Ben Phillips 1:54:49) with 3:38:15 - more than 15 minutes ahead of the 2nd place club team.

Well done all of you!

The quaint bucolic setting of the event HQ somewhat compensated for the tortuous access down long narrow lanes, though poor signal meant delays with the results. Apologies to all for these various inconveniences.

#### AND THANKS ESPECIALLY

to everyone who devoted their free time to make this a successful event:-

Bob Jones, bike~pace (signage fixer),

Phyllis Harradine, CC Topp (Start TK) with Bob Jones (Start marshal),

Mike Waite, VTTA South Wales Group (marshal & observer at the Mitchell Troy turn),

Robin Field, Cardiff Byways CC & Phil Windall, Hereford & Dist Whs CC (Finish TK's) with Fran Field (recorder),

Bob Jones (marshal & observer at the Abergavenny roundabout turn),

Ed Malarzcyk & Terry Wilkins, Cwmcarn Paragon CC (marshals at the Hardwick Gyratory),

Bob Jones (Broom Wagon 1),

Mike Waite (Broom Wagon 2).

Jill Colman, Port Talbot Whs CC (HQ steward)

Everyone else who offered to lend a hand.

#### **HQ** Arrangements -

Particular thanks to Lesley Ball, Llanddewi Rhydderch Village Hall, for making the venue available.